AAMRI 2016 National Convention – event information

AAMRI 2016 National Convention – event information

9-10 November 2016, Hyatt Hotel Canberra

The AAMRI National Convention is a free, member only event consisting of strategy meetings, networking opportunities, AAMRI’s Annual Dinner at Parliament House and AAMRI’s AGM. This year’s convention will be held on 9 and 10 November.

Thanks to CSL and the Australian Institute of Policy & Science (AIPS), the CSL Young Florey Medal will be presented at the Annual Dinner on Wednesday 9 November, Minister for Health and Aged Care, the Hon Sussan Ley MP, as guest speaker.

We encourage each AAMRI member organisation to have their Director and a senior executive attend the Convention and Annual Dinner, and a representative of their Board to attend the Board Members’ Pre-Dinner Drinks and Annual Dinner. If you would like to send additional representatives or have any other queries, please contact Kathryn Naumenko (events@aamri.org.au; 03 9345 2553).

Accommodation is available at Hyatt Hotel Canberra at heavily discounted delegate rates. To avoid disappointment, we highly recommend you book your accommodation as early as possible on ph 02 6269 8708 and quote the block code: AA16. All unbooked delegate rooms will be released one month prior to the event.

Please also book flights early! As this is a Parliament sitting week, flights and accommodaton will fill quickly.

The AAMRI Annual Dinner is generously sponsored by CSL.


Convention program

Wednesday 9 November

9.00am – 12.30pm – MRI Business Managers’ Meeting

Federation Ballroom North

9.00am Registration opens

9.30am Welcome

Dr Nick Pearce (Chair), Chief Operating Officer, Centenary Institute

9.35am Strategic Skills Development for Researchers in the MRI Sector – a workforce development initiative

Chris Walton, Chief Executive, Professionals Australia

10.00am Implementation of the Defence Trade Controls Act – experience to date

Tina Mathewson, Assistant Secretary, Department of Defence

10.25am Improving the health outcomes for Australians through better cooperation of CRCs and Australian Medical Research Institutes

Tony Peacock, Chief Executive, CRC Association

10.50am Morning Tea

To be held in the Gallery located next to Federation Ballroom North

11.20am An MRI takes on Athena SWAN

Professor Terry Speed, Honorary Fellow, Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research
Louise Naughton, Diversity and Inclusion Officer, Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research

11.45am Working together to create value and manage cost

Nick Northcott, Managing Director, Chrysalis Advisory
Nick Wood, Director of Corporate Services, Telethon Kids Institute

12.10pm Australian medical research student portal to drive the next generation of MRI researchers

Dr Nicole den Elzen, Executive General Manager, Baker IDI Heart & Diabetes Institute


12.30pm – 1.30pm Lunch – MRI Business Managers and Directors

To be held in the Gallery located next to Federation Ballroom North


1.30pm – 5.00pm AAMRI Strategy Meeting

Federation Ballroom North

1.30pm Welcome

Professor Doug Hilton (Chair), AAMRI President

1.35pm MRI Sector Report 2016 – a comprehensive overview of the sector by numbers

Dr Cath Latham (Report Author), AAMRI

2.05pm AAMRI Policy Discussion

Professor Doug Hilton, AAMRI President

3.00pm Does AAMRI need to bother with research translation and commercialisation?

Mr Bill Ferris AC, Chair, Innovation & Science Australia

3.30pm Afternoon Tea

To be held in the Gallery located next to Federation Ballroom North

4.00pm Gazing into the crystal ball: the Australian health and medical research industry of the future

Prof Ian Frazer AC FRS FAA, President, Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences

4.30pm Measuring research impact in Australia’s Medical Research Institutes

Simon Deeming, Health Research Economist, Hunter Medical Research Institute

5.00pm Close


5.30pm – 6.30pm MRI board chairs’ drinks, Lavender Terrace


6.30pm – 10.00pm AAMRI 2016 Annual Dinner – sponsored by CSL


6.30pm Transport from Hotel Hyatt Canberra to Parliament House

Coaches depart 6:30pm from Kaye place, located at the rear of the Hotel Hyatt Canberra

7.00pm AAMRI 2016 Annual Dinner, Great Hall, Parliament House

Guest speaker: The Hon Sussan Ley MP, Minister for Health and Aged Care

Supported by CSL and including the presentation of the CSL Young Florey Award

10.00pm Close


Thursday 10 November

7.30am – 8.30am AAMRI President’s Breakfast

Guest speaker: The Hon Bill Shorten MP, Leader of the Opposition


8.30am – 11.00am AAMRI AGM, Federation Ballroom North

Registration from 8.30am, desk located in the Gallery, directly beside Federation Ballroom North

8.30am Registration opens

9.00am AAMRI AGM commences

11.00am Close