Professor Elizabeth Hartland appointed as new VicAAMRI Chair

Professor Elizabeth Hartland appointed as new VicAAMRI Chair

27th April, 2022

The Victorian Chapter of the Association of Australian Medical Research Institutes (VicAAMRI) is delighted to announce that Professor Elizabeth Hartland will take over as Chair of VicAAMRI.

Professor Hartland is Director and CEO of Hudson Institute for Medical Research, and Head of the Department of Molecular and Translational Science, Monash University Faculty of Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences. She is a trained microbiologist and international leader in the field of microbiology and immunology.

Professor Hartland will be joined by new Chair-elect, Professor Ricky Johnstone, Executive Director Cancer Research, Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre and Head of the Sir Peter MacCallum Department of Oncology, University of Melbourne.

“As we begin to emerge from a time of unprecedented challenges to global health, the value of a strong medical research sector has never been more apparent,” said Professor Hartland.

“By supporting Victoria’s outstanding health and medical research workforce and investing in our capabilities, we can cement our place as one of the world’s premier locations for medical research.”

Professor Hartland takes over the role from Professor Brendan Crabb AC, Director of the Burnet Institute and a leading infectious disease researcher.

“It has been a privilege to serve as the inaugural Chair of VicAAMRI. Recent years have served to greatly reinforce the importance of a strong medical research sector, and Victoria continues to assert its place as a world leading hub for medical research,” said Professor Crabb.

“VicAAMRI’s new leadership team will continue to take our state from strength to strength and help to ensure that we realise the life-changing potential of medical research.”

VicAAMRI extends its warmest thanks and gratitude to Professor Crabb for his leadership and dedication since the organisation’s establishment in 2016.