2019 AAMRI Annual Convention Program

2019 AAMRI Annual Convention Program

Register hereWe have an exciting new program for the 2019 AAMRI Annual Convention in Canberra (27-28 November). The new format will have more discussion focussed sessions on key MRI sector issues and AAMRI’s priorities for the coming year. We are also delighted to have Moira Clay (Moira Clay Consulting) as our facilitator. See below for the program, or download the pdf version here.

The Minister for Health, The Hon Greg Hunt MP will be the guest speaker at the AAMRI Dinner and will present the CSL Florey Award.

The Shadow Minister for Health, The Hon Chris Bowen MP will be the guest speaker at the AAMRI President’s Breakfast.

Visit the 2019 Annual Convention and Dinner event page for details and information about how to register. The Convention, President’s Breakfast and AGM will be held at the Hyatt Hotel Canberra.

Tuesday 26 November
6.00pm - 7.00pmWelcome drinks
Lavender Terrace, Hyatt Hotel Canberra
Wednesday 27 November
9.00amRegistration opens
Meeting Facilitator: Professor Moira Clay, Moira Clay Consulting
9.35amSession 1: Managing university-institute relationships
Discussion session with institute case study presentations
Introduction: Marcus Goddard, Business Manager, Robinson Research Institute
Case Study 1: The George Institute for Global Health - Tim Regan, Chief Operating Officer
Case Study 2: Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre - Carol Ginns, Associate Director, Research Support and Development
Case Study 3: Robinson Research Institute - Marcus Goddard, Business Manager
Discussion session and Q&A
10.35amSession 2: Funding challenges and responses at MRIs (Part 1)
Presentation: MRI funding trends and future funding challenges for the sector - Dr Cath Latham, AAMRI
Discussion and Q&A on sector-wide trends and challenges
11.30amSession 3: Funding challenges and responses at MRIs (Part 2)
Case Study 1: Harry Perkins Institute of Medical Research - Diana Forsyth, Chief Operating Officer
Case Study 2: Institute for Glycomics - Chris Davis, General Manager
Case Study 3: Telethon Kids Institute - Nick Wood, Chief Operating Officer
Discussion session and Q&A
1.30pmWelcome & overview of the AAMRI Strategy Meeting
1.40pmExpanding drug discovery capabilities in Australia: the National Drug Discovery Centre
Professor Guillaume Lessene and Dr Helene Jousset
Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research
2.00pmNHMRC’s new grant program: the first year
Professor Anne Kelso AO
CEO, National Health and Medical Research Council
2.40pmHow have the UK Funding Bodies promoted translation of health research?
Professor Sir John Savill
Executive Director, Melbourne Academic Centre for Health
& Former CEO, Medical Research Council (UK)
3.40pmMaking the most of the Medical Research Future Fund (MRFF)
Panel & group discussion session

- Professor Jonathan Carapetis AM (AAMRI President & Director of Telethon Kids Institute)
- Professor Sir John Savill (Executive Director, Melbourne Academic Centre for
Health and the former CEO of the UK Medical Research Council)
- Professor Sharon Lewin AO (Director of the Doherty Institute)
- Professor Peter Schofield AO (Director of NeuRA)
- Professor Helen Christensen AO (Director of the Black Dog Institute)
- Dr Moira Clay (Facilitator)
4.30pmAAMRI Convention Shake-up
What's in store for 2020?
7.00pm–10.00pmAAMRI 2019 ANNUAL DINNER - Supported by CSL
Great Hall, Parliament House
Guest Speaker: The Hon Greg Hunt MP, Minister for Health
Presentation of the CSL Florey Award


Thursday 28 November
Guest Speaker: The Hon Chris Bowen MP, Shadow Minister for Health
8.30amAAMRI Annual General Meeting Registration
AAMRI Action Agenda: Setting AAMRI's priorities for 2020

Register here